Diet for Cushing's

Home Forums Dementia and old age discussion Diet for Cushing's

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Andrea

Hi Dr. Lena,

Thank you for your article on treating Cushing’s natural. It was very informative. I have a question about diet. My 10 year old cocker spaniel was recently diagnosed with Cushing’s. I have been feeding him a natural (cooked) diet for about 6 years already along with supplements. I have a holistic vet in addition to my regular vet because the holistic vet is about an hour’s drive away from me. I went to see him when Spencer was diagnosed with Cushing’s because I prefer to take an all natural approach to these things. I got some new supplements and Spencer also had an acupuncture treatment (which I’ve seen great results from already!) and he also made some diet recommendations which is what I’m concerned about.

I had been feeding about 1/3 meat (usually ground turkey, chicken, or beef) 1/3 veggies (various root and greens), and 1/3 grains (millet, brown rice, or oats).

I was expecting the holistic vet would tell me I should eliminate grains and increase the meat and veggies but instead he told me that I could continue grains since Spencer seems to handle them well, but that I should increase the veggies and reduce the meat to only about 15% of the diet in total (and only white meats, no more beef). Only 15% meat seems very low to me. Normally when he gives me advice I can research online and find similar recommendations and feel more confident but not for this one. Since the appointment I’ve been following my gut feeling…I reduced the meat a bit but I just can’t bring myself to reduce it THAT much. I would have definitely felt better if he’d told me 2/3 veggies and keep my 1/3 meat.. That is my question, do you think only 15% meat is too low?

Thank you!

Lena
    Keymaster

Hi Andrea,